More than 100 Wildcats honored at WVHS’s athletic award ceremony

| 13 Jul 2017 | 06:52

    WARWICK — The Warwick Valley High School Athletic Department recently presented 113 awards and scholarships to more than 100 student-athletes who competed for the school during the 2016-17 school year at the annual awards banquet and ceremony.
    • Greer Liguori, a standout in track and basketball, was presented with the Peg Hill Lattimer Award for Outstanding Female Athlete.
    • Ryan Ferro, the outstanding wrestler and football player, was presented with the C. Ashley Morgan Award for Outstanding Male Athlete.
    Here is the list of all 113 award winners:
    Fall Outstanding Cheerleader Award: Maeve McKenna
    Fall Cheer Spirit Award: Nicolette Barbera
    Boys Soccer Leadership Award: Andrew Lasso
    Boys Soccer Most Improved: Tyler Arnold
    Boys Soccer MVP: Sam LaTorre
    Girls Soccer Most Improved: Shannon Selvaggio
    Girls Soccer Coach’s Award: Gabriela Gamory
    Girls Soccer MVP: Catherine Smith
    Boys Cross Country Most Improved: Thomas Gardiner
    Boys Cross Country Coach’s Award for Dedication: Thomas Nafash
    Boys Cross Country MVP: Behailu Bekele-Arcuri
    Girls Cross Country Most Improved: Genevieve Reilly
    Girls Cross Country Coach’s Award for Dedication: Danielle Bartolotta
    Girls Cross Country MVP: Jennifer Prial
    Girls Swim Most Dedicated: Aislinn Mohyla
    Girls Swim Most Improved: Meghan Brockunier
    Girls Swim MVP: Emma Davis
    Girls Diving MVP: Amanda McGraw
    Volleyball Sportsmanship Award: Demi Herasme
    Volleyball Will to Win Award: Madison Parrelli
    Volleyball Defensive Player of the Year Award: Jenna Nicoletti
    Girls Tennis Most Improved: Bailey Greco
    Girls Tennis Coach’s Award: Victoria Smith
    Girls Tennis MVP: Ava Ghobadian
    Girls Tennis MVP: Jacqueline Grundfast
    Football Outstanding Player: Ryan Ferro
    Football Outstanding Offensive Player: Gene Decker
    Football Outstanding Defensive Player: Brody Jo Ryan
    Football Outstanding Lineman: Brendan Egan
    Winter Cheerleading Coach’s Award: Shannon Hayden
    Winter Cheerleading Overall Performance Award: Valerie Cruz
    Boys Basketball Vito Magdelinskas: Richard Vreeland
    Boys Basketball Mr. Basketball: Gene Decker
    Boys Basketball MVP: Connor Perez
    Girls Basketball Most Improved: Sarah Lennon
    Girls Basketball Fran Higgins Award: Lauren Desrats
    Girls Basketball MVP: Greer Liguori
    Boys Swim Most Improved: Jack Leahey
    Boys Swim Most Dedicated: Gregory Knob
    Boys Swim Outstanding Swimmer: Lee Emmerich
    Boys Swim MVP: Christopher Sommer
    Boys Skiing Most Improved: Travis Gerhardt
    Boys Skiing Coach’s Award: Matthew Hansen
    Boys Skiing MVP: Jack Pennington
    Girls Skiing Most Improved: Julia Priebke
    Girls Skiing Coach’s Award: Simone Sullivan
    Girls Skiing MVP: Caroline Huey
    Boys Indoor Track Coach’s Award: Isaac Heatley
    Boys Indoor Track MVP: Thomas Gardiner
    Boys Indoor Field MVP: Kesigh Deloatch
    Girls Indoor Track Coach’s Award: Jessica Pinelli
    Girls Indoor Track MVP: Penny Greibesland
    Girls Indoor Field MVP: Kaeli Thompson
    Wrestling Most Improved: Drew Greco
    Wrestling Coach’s Award: Lucas Wightman
    Wrestling Most Outstanding: Ryan Ferro
    Boys Golf Coach’s Award: Ian Stirt
    Boys Golf Will to Win: Keith Delehanty
    Girls Golf Most Improved: Maura Nelsen
    Girls Golf MVP: Juliet Lepre
    Boys Outdoor Track Leadership: Jason Nafash
    Boys Outdoor Track Coach’s Award: Daniel Lindstrom
    George Large/Robert Kennedy Memorial Award for Outstanding Dedication to Track: Thomas Gardiner
    Boys Outdoor Track MVP: Dennis Van Dunk
    Boys Outdoor Field MVP: Kesigh Deloatch
    Girls Outdoor Track Leadership: Danielle Bartolotta
    Girls Outdoor Track Coach’s Award: Demi Herasme
    Karen Morgiewicz Award for Outstanding Dedication to Track: Jennifer Prial
    Girls Outdoor Track MVP: Greer Liguori
    Girls Outdoor Field MVP: Kaeli Thompson
    Mr. Baseball: Dennis Houlihan
    The Gerry Marshall Baseball Coach’s Award: Matthew VanderPlaat
    Baseball Defensive MVP: Jack Todd
    Baseball MVP: Colin Weinert
    Softball Most Dedicated: Gabriella Calandra
    Softball Will to Win: Kaylyn Kantor
    Softball Unsung Hero: Shannon McNally
    Boys Tennis Will to Win: Anthony Gray
    Boys Tennis MVP: Pearse Algiere
    Boys Tennis MVP: Dean Redmond
    Boys Lacrosse Most Improved: Kyle Rooney
    Boys Lacrosse Coach’s Award: Aiden Forman
    Boys Lacrosse MVP: Sean Walter
    Ms. Wildcat Lacrosse: Shannon Appelquist
    Girls Lacrosse Coach’s Award: Brogan Dineen
    Girls Lacrosse MVP: Maggee Sheridan
    Boys Crew Most Improved: Brendan Hallinan
    Boys Crew Coach’s Award: William Duma
    Boys Crew Most Valuable Rower: Benjamin Zakzewski
    Girls Crew Most Improved: Eve Hammerle
    Girls Crew Coach’s Award: Anne Demetroules
    Girls Crew Most Valuable Rower: Kira Poulson
    Perrotta Scholarship (Outstanding Student Athlete): Kacey Sheridan
    Dick Lombardi Memorial Golf Award: Juliet Lepre
    Dick Lombardi Memorial Golf Award: Keith Delehanty
    Richard Gerrity Memorial Athletic Award: Dennis Houlihan
    Nicholas Papaceno Memorial Athletic Award: Jennifer Prial
    Kevin Kless Scholarship: Juliet Lepre
    Anthony C. Quinn Memorial Scholarship: Gregory Knob
    Football/Wrestling Unsung Hero Scholarship (Presented by The Monahan Family): Ryan Ferro
    Warwick Soccer Club Scholarship in memory of Stephen G. Harrell : William Duma
    Warwick Soccer Club Scholarship in memory of Robin Desrats: Olivia Astorino
    Most Dedicated Male Athlete: Gene Decker
    Christina Ginley Most Dedicated Female Athlete: Jennifer Prial
    Will To Win Male Athlete of the Year: Kyle LeDuc
    Will To Win Female Athlete of the Year: Demi Herasme
    Boys Outstanding Competitor: David Ghiloni
    Girls Outstanding Competitor: Penny Greibesland
    Boys Most Valuable Performer: Kesigh Deloatch
    Girls Most Valuable Performer: Maggee Sheridan
    C. Ashley Morgan Award for Outstanding Male Athlete: Ryan Ferro
    Peg Hill Lattimer Award for Outstanding Female Athlete: Greer Liguori