Warwick Valley Teachers Association awards $10,000 in scholarships

| 19 Jun 2017 | 07:31

WARWICK — The Warwick Valley Teachers Association has awarded $10,000 in scholarships to a select group of Warwick Valley High School seniors.
These scholarships were presented to the class of 2017 graduates at the 44th annual Warwick Valley High School Awards Night on June 1 by mathematics teacher and scholarship committee co-chairperson Kelli Sciarra and WVTA President Carlos Barquero.
High school science teacher Barbara Glover also serves as the WVTA scholarship committee co-chairperson.
The recipients were selected through a highly competitive application process.
The WVTA awarded three Teacher Memorial Awards for $2,000 each. These awards were created in honor of three inspiring and dedicated teachers who passed away during their teaching careers in the Warwick Valley School District:
• Grace Zimmerman won the Alexander Smith Memorial Award.
• Jason Nafash won the Sandy Shanbaum Memorial Award.
• Grace Magee won the Heidi Villegas Memorial Award.
• Bryn Brockunier, Jenna Nicoletti, Brianna Prego, and Sabrina Rice each were also awarded $1,000 scholarships.
Each scholarship recipient has proven to be a well-rounded young adult, who earns high marks in academic classes, participates in sports, arts, music, extracurricular clubs and activities, volunteers, and has worked to become a valued member in our school district and community.
“Congratulations to our scholarship recipients and the entire Class of 2017," Sciarra said in the press release announcing the awards. "The WVTA wishes each of you the best of luck in your future endeavors. We are very proud of you.”