Jewish Federation of Greater Orange County honors volunteers

Newburgh. The federation held its 44th annual meeting on a virtual platform.

| 22 Jun 2020 | 02:58

    More than 100 participants logged into the 44th annual meeting of the Jewish Federation of Greater Orange County on Sunday, June 14, the first in the organization’s history held on a virtual platform.

    Community members were presented with a slideshow of past events that were held before social distancing requirements halted in-person programming. President Harvey Kallus recalled highlights of the past year, including a successful Jewish Film Festival series chaired by Leslie Green, an increased presence of the Zachor Anti-Semitism initiative in Orange County public schools and an expanded Jewish early childhood program, “PJ Play,” that reached a record number of new families.

    Treasurer Jeffrey Harmer hared a positive financial report that indicated a healthy financial state for the organization.

    New trustees were installed. Sharon Goldberg and Lisa Korenman were thanked for their years of service as they stepped down off the board. Past President Carla Wise became an honorary trustee.

    “We are blessed to have so many people who are willing to give of themselves within our many Orange County communities,” said Rabbi Rachel Rubenstein, the federation’s executive director. “We thank each and every one of them for their outstanding contributions towards making a real difference in the lives of those in need.”

    Since 1977, the Jewish Federation of Greater Orange County has been working to build a strong Jewish community that enriches people’s lives, helps those in need and embraces all Jewish families. With member support, our recipient organizations in Orange County help thousands of people here at home and through the Jewish Federations of North America, aid Jewish communities at risk in Israel and around the world.

    Community volunteers
    The following exceptional community volunteers, selected by Orange County synagogues and Jewish organizations, were recognized for their efforts:
    Congregation Agudas Israel - Mimica Hyman
    Congregation Beth Hillel - Carol and David Jalazo
    Congregation Eitz Chaim - Jerome Spector Z’l
    Congregation Eitz Chaim Sisterhood - Entire Sisterhood Board: Rochelle Marshall, Rita Wincott, Fran Gordon, Bonnie Brunner, Ellen McNally, Gail Sullivan, Paula Spector, Vicky Morales, Sheila Ornstein, Alyse Matsil, Linda Siegel, Barbara Fromowitz and Samira Galler
    Jewish Federation - Sharon Goldberg
    Kol Yisrael - Marsha Sobel
    Newburgh JCC - Paul Hoffner
    Monroe Temple - Stephen Block
    Monroe Temple Sisterhood - Vicki Kilanowski
    Temple Beth Jacob - Ilana Lustbader
    Temple Beth Jacob Sisterhood - Lynne Arnold
    Temple Beth Shalom - Shannon Pollock
    Temple Beth Shalom Sisterhood - Janne Sommer
    Temple Sinai - Geoff Chanin