Budget passed and trustees elected at Florida Public Library

Three incumbent trustees were re-elected and the budget passed with under 200 votes. Registration to vote will be encouraged and supported in the future by library staff.

| 08 Apr 2022 | 04:03

    Florida Public Library’s budget for 2022-2023 was approved by the voters on Thursday, April 7. The proposed tax levy of $500,933 received 153 YES votes and 38 NO votes. Three incumbent trustees were also reelected. Sara Taylor (160 votes) and Tyler Carey (154 votes) were reelected to full three-year terms and Diane Arcieri (148 votes) to a one-year term. Write-in votes were received for Marie Adams, Beth Verbleeuw, Maria Martinez and John Sgombick. Library Director Meg Sgombick said “We are grateful for the continued support our community has shown the library and we are committed to helping our residents register so that they are able to vote in every election. There are several ways to register and library staff are happy to help. If you didn’t vote this time, don’t let another year go by without being registered.”

    The library is located at 4 Cohen Circle and is open seven days a week. For more information, call (845) 651-7659 or visit www.floridapublicliobrary.org.

    - end -

    For more information:

    Meg Sgombick