Golden Hill fifth graders graduate

| 30 Sep 2011 | 09:49

    Florida - The fifth grade students at Golden Hill Elementary School participated in their elementary graduation on June 22 in the school’s gymnasium. Certificates of graduation were presented by Principal Ronald De Pace; School Superintendent Douglas W. Burnside, who is retiring, delivered a message to the graduates; and fifth grader Brianna Milz wrote and read a poignant farewell address. Other distinguished guests included Director of Special Programs Lisa Tiger, Director of Technology Integration Dana Castine, Florida Teachers’ Association Vice President Rich Dever, PTA President Meg Sgombick, and John Galiski, treasurer and past commander, American Legion Post #1250, teachers and more than 200 parents, relatives and friends. Refreshments were served in the school’s back lobby, provided by the 4th grade parents and the PTA. Music was provided by the fifth grade band under the direction of Will Couture and the fifth grade chorus under the direction of Kristin Henne. The awards presented at this ceremony included: American Legion Awards Emily de Jong Kyle Weslowski Memorial Day Essay Winner: Jason Harty Attorney General’s Triple C Awards Theresa Bailey Liam Quattrociocchi Comptroller’s Achievement Award: Searra Bell John Shaughnessy Florida Teachers’ Association Awards Luke Cassar Jared Glaser Melissa L. Martinez Leadership Awards Alexa Chiappone Matthew Mulhare Robert Verblaauw Teacher Appreciation Awards Hannah Castine Sarah Licata Alexia Peterson Dorian Record Dominick Rico Hugo Ruiz Orange County Youth Bureau Spirit of Success Award Jonathan Glaser Golden Hill PTA’s Ralph Pomponio Memorial Award: For Chorus: Searra Bell For Band: Brianna Milz President’s Education Awards: Educational Excellence Ryan Aguas Theresa Bailey Searra Bell Colin Birch Orla Brosnan Luke Cassar Kyle Dallendorfer Christian Deas Emily de Jong Matthew Mulhare Alexis Pellegrini Maryfer Perez-Mestanza Liam Quattrociocchi John Shaughnessy Erika Straub Robert Verblaauw Andrew Wierzbicki Educational Achievement: Hannah Castine Alexa Chiappone Jared Glaser Jonathan Glaser Alexander Goff Dominick Rico Kyle Weslowski High Fives: Brandan Conklin JayAnn DeSimone Sarah Licata Shane Reynolds Andrew Sanchez Kyle Weslowski