| 30 Sep 2011 | 09:49

    Last week’s newspaper contained inaccurate information about the signers of the Declaration of Independence and the original 13 colonies. The error is embarrassing. It also diminishes the editors’ original intent of celebrating the Fourth of July weekend by providing readers with the founding document. Our apologies. We will do better in the future. What follows is the correct information about the 56 signers and the original 13 states: Connecticut Samuel Huntington Roger Sherman William Williams Oliver Wolcott Delaware George Read Caesar Rodney Thomas McKean Georgia Button Gwinnett Lyman Hall George Walton Maryland Charles Carroll Samuel Chase Thomas Stone William Paca Massachusetts John Adams Samuel Adams John Hancock Robert Treat Paine Elbridge Gerry New Hampshire Josiah Bartlett William Whipple Matthew Thornton New Jersey Abraham Clark John Hart Francis Hopkinson Richard Stockton John Witherspoon New York Lewis Morris Philip Livingston Francis Lewis William Floyd North Carolina William Hooper John Penn Joseph Hewes Pennsylvania George Clymer Benjamin Franklin Robert Morris John Morton Benjamin Rush George Ross James Smith James Wilson George Taylor Rhode Island Stephen Hopkins William Ellery South Carolina Edward Rutledge Arthur Middleton Thomas Lynch Jr. Thomas Heyward Jr. Virginia Richard Henry Lee Francis Lightfoot Lee Carter Braxton Benjamin Harrison Thomas Jefferson George Wythe Thomas Nelson Jr.