The Bear Mountain Bears 18U ice hockey team, consisting of players from both Orange and Rockland counties, traveled to Buffalo on St. Patrick's Day weekend to participate in the NYSAHA tournament. They returned to the Hudson Valley as 2014 Tier III Champions. The Bears came back from a 2-1 deficit to force overtime in the championship game against Louisville. With 18 seconds left in double overtime, Danny Moore scored the game-winner and was quickly mobbed by the rest of his teammates to celebrate their state title. In their semifinal game, the Bears also forced overtime. This time, Liam McAleer scored the game-winner to finish the Great Neck Bruins’ season. The team includes Kevin Maher, Brian Mulligan, Aidan Ludington and Chris Carey from Monroe; Liam McAleer, and Richard Krafft from Washingtonville; Dan Vobroucek, Zack Goodman, Case Coughlin and Kyle Eng from Highland Mills; Zach Adams (Florida), Dan DeMarco (Suffern), Connor Davis and Brian McGovern from Warwick; Anthony DePinto (Pomona), Kris Giordano (Valley Cottage), Mark McElroy (Garnerville), Danny Moore (Stoney Point) and Andrew Raffert (Haverstraw). The team is coached by Erik Batewell (Washingtonville),Josh Goodman (Central Valley), and Steve Pine (Monroe).