New Hampton. More than 100 men and women from 30 fire departments graduate from county firefighting training program

| 16 Aug 2021 | 08:29

Orange County Executive Steven M. Neuhaus attended the county’s Firefighter 1 graduation ceremony on Wednesday night, Aug. 11, at the county’s Fire Training Center in New Hampton.

Neuhaus was joined at the graduation by Orange County Undersheriff Kenneth T. Jones, Commissioner of Emergency Services Brendan Casey, Deputy Commissioner of Fire Services Vini Tankasali, Fire Training Chief Jim McCann, Assistant District Attorney Chris Borek and Deputy County Clerk Kelly Eskew.

“I was glad to recognize and congratulate these brave men and women,” said Neuhaus, a past graduate of the County’s Fire Training Program. “We appreciate their commitment to public service and their willingness to risk their own lives to save others. It takes a special person to become a firefighter and I commend the graduates, along with the training instructors, participating fire departments, and their friends and families on being a part of this impressive achievement.”

The Firefighter 1 graduating classes consisted of 102 residents from 30 County Fire Departments. Firefighter 1 is a comprehensive and intensive introductory course required to become an interior firefighter.

The course is comprised of 129 classroom hours and additional take home assignments. Courses were taught by Orange County Fire instructors at the Fire Training Center in New Hampton and entailed lectures and hands on training sessions.

“We are proud of this year’s class and the commitment they have made to their communities,” Tankasali said. “The completion of this course illustrates the selfless dedication of each of the graduates and their belief in service to others. I offer my congratulations and best wishes as well as my gratitude to them all.”

Residents interested in becoming volunteer firefighters, can contact the county’s Division of Fire Services at

2021 Firefighter 1 graduates
Jones Maximos
Laboy Eyan
Maendel Kevin
Outhouse Ryan
Pechette Raymond
Semprivivo Dylan
Straber Ryan
Jansen Emily
Kamrowski Michael
Ossentjuk Anne
Allen Chris
Allen Liam
Burrow Brian Goshen
Gonzales Fernando
Knight Aalijah
Rudolph Daniel
Greenwood Lake
Attard Kevin
Bradford Steven
Minns Christopher
Peters Matthew
Poli Michael
Brandon Owen
Dascanio Michael
Mkamel Firas
South Blooming Grove
Fuentes Tyler
Kasker Christopher
Nunez Christopher
Carlough Daryl
Colon Osvaldo
Estevez Roger
Gilmartin Dakota
Gilmartin Michael
Ladka Brooke
Ladka Ethan
Levitsky Ava
Newkirk Roland
O’Neill Angelina
Reed Brad
Segota Matthew
Tomaselli Travis
Vreeland Timothy
Walker Lian
Flakowicz Matthew
Molloy Matthew
Sheehan Thomas
Stevens Jonathan