More than 100 Wildcats honored at WVHS’s athletic award ceremony

Greer Liguori and Ryan Ferro chosen as the school's outstanding female and male athletes

Make text smaller Make text larger

WARWICK — The Warwick Valley High School Athletic Department recently presented 113 awards and scholarships to more than 100 student-athletes who competed for the school during the 2016-17 school year at the annual awards banquet and ceremony.

• Greer Liguori, a standout in track and basketball, was presented with the Peg Hill Lattimer Award for Outstanding Female Athlete.

• Ryan Ferro, the outstanding wrestler and football player, was presented with the C. Ashley Morgan Award for Outstanding Male Athlete.

Here is the list of all 113 award winners:

Fall Outstanding Cheerleader Award: Maeve McKenna

Fall Cheer Spirit Award: Nicolette Barbera

Boys Soccer Leadership Award: Andrew Lasso

Boys Soccer Most Improved: Tyler Arnold

Boys Soccer MVP: Sam LaTorre

Girls Soccer Most Improved: Shannon Selvaggio

Girls Soccer Coach’s Award: Gabriela Gamory

Girls Soccer MVP: Catherine Smith

Boys Cross Country Most Improved: Thomas Gardiner

Boys Cross Country Coach’s Award for Dedication: Thomas Nafash

Boys Cross Country MVP: Behailu Bekele-Arcuri

Girls Cross Country Most Improved: Genevieve Reilly

Girls Cross Country Coach’s Award for Dedication: Danielle Bartolotta

Girls Cross Country MVP: Jennifer Prial

Girls Swim Most Dedicated: Aislinn Mohyla

Girls Swim Most Improved: Meghan Brockunier

Girls Swim MVP: Emma Davis

Girls Diving MVP: Amanda McGraw

Volleyball Sportsmanship Award: Demi Herasme

Volleyball Will to Win Award: Madison Parrelli

Volleyball Defensive Player of the Year Award: Jenna Nicoletti

Girls Tennis Most Improved: Bailey Greco

Girls Tennis Coach’s Award: Victoria Smith

Girls Tennis MVP: Ava Ghobadian

Girls Tennis MVP: Jacqueline Grundfast

Football Outstanding Player: Ryan Ferro

Football Outstanding Offensive Player: Gene Decker

Football Outstanding Defensive Player: Brody Jo Ryan

Football Outstanding Lineman: Brendan Egan

Winter Cheerleading Coach’s Award: Shannon Hayden

Winter Cheerleading Overall Performance Award: Valerie Cruz

Boys Basketball Vito Magdelinskas: Richard Vreeland

Boys Basketball Mr. Basketball: Gene Decker

Boys Basketball MVP: Connor Perez

Girls Basketball Most Improved: Sarah Lennon

Girls Basketball Fran Higgins Award: Lauren Desrats

Girls Basketball MVP: Greer Liguori

Boys Swim Most Improved: Jack Leahey

Boys Swim Most Dedicated: Gregory Knob

Boys Swim Outstanding Swimmer: Lee Emmerich

Boys Swim MVP: Christopher Sommer

Boys Skiing Most Improved: Travis Gerhardt

Boys Skiing Coach’s Award: Matthew Hansen

Boys Skiing MVP: Jack Pennington

Girls Skiing Most Improved: Julia Priebke

Girls Skiing Coach’s Award: Simone Sullivan

Girls Skiing MVP: Caroline Huey

Boys Indoor Track Coach’s Award: Isaac Heatley

Boys Indoor Track MVP: Thomas Gardiner

Boys Indoor Field MVP: Kesigh Deloatch

Girls Indoor Track Coach’s Award: Jessica Pinelli

Girls Indoor Track MVP: Penny Greibesland

Girls Indoor Field MVP: Kaeli Thompson

Wrestling Most Improved: Drew Greco

Wrestling Coach’s Award: Lucas Wightman

Wrestling Most Outstanding: Ryan Ferro

Boys Golf Coach’s Award: Ian Stirt

Boys Golf Will to Win: Keith Delehanty

Girls Golf Most Improved: Maura Nelsen

Girls Golf MVP: Juliet Lepre

Boys Outdoor Track Leadership: Jason Nafash

Boys Outdoor Track Coach’s Award: Daniel Lindstrom

George Large/Robert Kennedy Memorial Award for Outstanding Dedication to Track: Thomas Gardiner

Boys Outdoor Track MVP: Dennis Van Dunk

Boys Outdoor Field MVP: Kesigh Deloatch

Girls Outdoor Track Leadership: Danielle Bartolotta

Girls Outdoor Track Coach’s Award: Demi Herasme

Karen Morgiewicz Award for Outstanding Dedication to Track: Jennifer Prial

Girls Outdoor Track MVP: Greer Liguori

Girls Outdoor Field MVP: Kaeli Thompson

Mr. Baseball: Dennis Houlihan

The Gerry Marshall Baseball Coach’s Award: Matthew VanderPlaat

Baseball Defensive MVP: Jack Todd

Baseball MVP: Colin Weinert

Softball Most Dedicated: Gabriella Calandra

Softball Will to Win: Kaylyn Kantor

Softball Unsung Hero: Shannon McNally

Boys Tennis Will to Win: Anthony Gray

Boys Tennis MVP: Pearse Algiere

Boys Tennis MVP: Dean Redmond

Boys Lacrosse Most Improved: Kyle Rooney

Boys Lacrosse Coach’s Award: Aiden Forman

Boys Lacrosse MVP: Sean Walter

Ms. Wildcat Lacrosse: Shannon Appelquist

Girls Lacrosse Coach’s Award: Brogan Dineen

Girls Lacrosse MVP: Maggee Sheridan

Boys Crew Most Improved: Brendan Hallinan

Boys Crew Coach’s Award: William Duma

Boys Crew Most Valuable Rower: Benjamin Zakzewski

Girls Crew Most Improved: Eve Hammerle

Girls Crew Coach’s Award: Anne Demetroules

Girls Crew Most Valuable Rower: Kira Poulson

Perrotta Scholarship (Outstanding Student Athlete): Kacey Sheridan

Dick Lombardi Memorial Golf Award: Juliet Lepre

Dick Lombardi Memorial Golf Award: Keith Delehanty

Richard Gerrity Memorial Athletic Award: Dennis Houlihan

Nicholas Papaceno Memorial Athletic Award: Jennifer Prial

Kevin Kless Scholarship: Juliet Lepre

Anthony C. Quinn Memorial Scholarship: Gregory Knob

Football/Wrestling Unsung Hero Scholarship (Presented by The Monahan Family): Ryan Ferro

Warwick Soccer Club Scholarship in memory of Stephen G. Harrell : William Duma

Warwick Soccer Club Scholarship in memory of Robin Desrats: Olivia Astorino

Most Dedicated Male Athlete: Gene Decker

Christina Ginley Most Dedicated Female Athlete: Jennifer Prial

Will To Win Male Athlete of the Year: Kyle LeDuc

Will To Win Female Athlete of the Year: Demi Herasme

Boys Outstanding Competitor: David Ghiloni

Girls Outstanding Competitor: Penny Greibesland

Boys Most Valuable Performer: Kesigh Deloatch

Girls Most Valuable Performer: Maggee Sheridan

C. Ashley Morgan Award for Outstanding Male Athlete: Ryan Ferro

Peg Hill Lattimer Award for Outstanding Female Athlete: Greer Liguori

Make text smaller Make text larger


Pool Rules


UPDATE: Police identify man fatally shot by Warwick police
A man wielding a knife was shot and killed by a Warwick police officer responding to a reported domestic...

Read more »

Junior League marks end of season with awards ceremony
— The Junior League of Orange County ended its 2017-18 season with an awards ceremony and a transfer of leadership at...
Read more »

Finance Expert Doug Messina: Health Care Costs
Health care is one of the largest expenses most retirees incur in their later years, and Medicare only covers a portion of heath care expenses. It is broken up into different...
Read more »

Quickbooks Expert Rochelle Dejong: Outsourcing Your Company's Bookkeeping
Outsourcing a “back-office” function such as bookkeeping to R&D allows you to focus on the core of your business. So if your business needs a bookkeeper for only a few...
Read more »


Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required
Community Newspapers


Warwick, NY